Inter-American Arbitration Convention

The Inter-American Convention on international commercial arbitration, 1975 (also known as the Panama Convention) entered into force on June 16, 1976. Subsequent deposits are effective on the 30th day after deposit with the Organization of American States. The Convention is open for signature by all 35 members of the OAS. States from outside the Americas may also accede to the Convention but none has done so to date.

As of June 1, 1997, the following sixteen countries have deposited their instrument of ratification with the OAS. (The date in parentheses is the date of deposit.)

Argentina (5 Jan 1995)
Brazil (27 Nov 1995)
Chile (17 May 1976)
Colombia (29 Dec 1986)
Costa Rica (20 Jan 1978)
Ecuador (23 Oct 1991)
El Salvador (11 Aug 1980)
Guatemala (20 Aug 1986)
Honduras (22 Mar 1979)
Mexico (27 Mar 1978)
Panama (17 Dec 1975)
Paraguay (15 Dec 1976)
Peru (22 May 1989)
USA (27 Sep 1990)
Uruguay (25 Apr 1977)
Venezuela (16 May 1985)

The following three countries are signatories to the Convention, but have not yet ratified their signature. (The date in parentheses is the date of signature.)

Bolivia (2 Aug 1983)
Dominican Rep. (18 Apr 1977)
Nicaragua (30 Jan 1975)

Source: Organization of American States.

The following analysis examines the status of the Panama Convention and the 1958 New York Convention in the 35 OAS states as of June 22, 1996.

1. Twelve states have accepted both the New York and Panama Conventions: Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Guatemala, Mexico, Panama, Peru, USA, Uruguay, and Venezuela.

2. Twelve states have accepted one or the other, but not both conventions:

New York: Antigua & Barbuda, Barbados, Bolivia, Canada, Cuba, Dominica, Haiti, and Trinidad & Tobago. (Bolivia has signed, but not ratified, the Panama Convention.)

Panama: Brazil, El Salvador, Honduras, and Paraguay. (El Salvador has signed, but not ratified, the New York Convention.)

3. Eleven states have not accepted either convention: Bahamas, Belize, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Nicaragua, St. Christopher & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, and Suriname.

4. Two of these eleven states have signed the Panama Convention: Dominican Republic and Nicaragua.

Arbitration Index